The Treasury of Lives

We do not have an image for this site. Contact us at if you'd like to share one.

Tsel Gungtang, to the south of Lhasa, was founded in the twelfth century by Zhang Yudrakpa Tsundru Drakpa, also known as Lama Zhang. Lhazang Khan offered Tsel Gungtang to the Fiftieth Ganden Tripa, Gendun Puntsok. Gendun Puntsok, who later became known as Tri Gungtangpa, converted the Tselpa Kagyu monastery to the Geluk tradition.

Abbots & Officers


1. First Abbot Zhang Yudrakpa Tsondru Drakpa [1175 - 1187]
2. Second Abbot Nyamme Śākya Yeshe [1187 - 1207]
3. Third Abbot shes rab ye shes [1207 - ]
4. Fourth Abbot byang chub ye shes [1208 - ]
5. Fifth Abbot Lhachuk Kharwa Nyida O [1210 - 1214]
6. Sixth Abbot sangs rgyas 'bum [1214 - ]
Abbot shAkya 'bum [1301 - ]


There are 19 related biographies